Report on the Waltham Abbey Town Partnership

Waltham Abbey Town Partnership (WATP) is a voluntary organization, set up by Epping Forest District_Council, which works in partnership with business, residents and local government to improve the economy and prosperity of Waltham Abbey.

There are 6 independent town centre partnerships operate within Epping Forest District covering the following locations:

- 1. Buckhurst Hill
- 2. Epping
- 3. Loughton Broadway
- 4. Loughton High Road
- 5. Ongar
- 6. Waltham Abbey

Membership is open to all residents and business people who are interested in the promotion of the town's economy and all are invited to the AGM in September each year.

A Steering Committee administers the day to day business of WATP and special projects are considered, separately, in sub-committees. These include "Tourism" and "Events" sub-committees.

Further to the scheduled AGM on the 17th of September 2013 at 7.30pm at the Marriott Hotel in Waltham Abbey, The Chairman, Mrs Norma Green, decided not to stand for a further year and she proposed Helen Kane as her successor.

Helen Kane was elected and thanked Norma Green and everyone for the nomination and the trust. She said it will be very hard to match someone with so much experience and she will work hard to continue the success of the WATP. She also promised to continue the Business Breakfasts and honour any pre-arranged events for 2014 i.e. The Cucumber festival, as the negotiations and meetings for this event started the previous year.

Chris Hamer was re-elected to be the Treasurer.

Anthony O'Connor was re-elected to be the Deputy Chairman.

The appointment of nominated representatives to the steering committee is as follows:

Chamber of Commerce John Price
Copped Hall Margaret Gervis

EFDC (2 members)

1. Jeane Lea 2. Helen Kane
EFDC (officer Museum)

Tony O'Connor

EFDC Economic Development Officer

Gilwell Park

Link4Growth

LVRPA (officer)

Vicki Willis

Paul Andrews

Paul Violet

Naomi Chant

Royal Gunpowder Mills WA Church (2) LV Church WA Historical Society WATC (member) WATC (officer) Marriott Hotel

Andrew Coates
1. Peter Smith
Mick Fitch

2. Richard Walters

Olive Schwenk
Richard James

Kathryn Richmond

Caroline Jenkins

On the 15th of October 2013 the first meeting took place under the new Chairman – and was decided to make a press release with the changes emphasizing Norma Green's contribution to the Town Partnership throughout the years as the Chairman of the organisation.

The two WATP subcommittees' members were appointed at this October meeting. All members were re-elected with the addition of Cllr Glynis Shiell to the Events Group Subcommittee.

Each organisation's representative present, gave a full report regarding news, and future events. Next meeting date agreed the 12th of November at 9.15am in the Waltham Abbey Town Hall Chambers.

Helen Kane